top of page




Year 11, Level 1


What is the National Certificate of Educational Achievement Level One?


If you are aiming to go to University or Polytechnic you need to enroll in a full Level One course.  Level 1 is the foundation qualification for secondary schools in NZ.  Every subject is made up of standards which cover the different aspects of the subject.


How will I gain these qualifications?


  • Every Standard is worth a number of credits.

  • Credits are like points you will collect towards a qualification.

  • You collect credits when you achieve the standard set for a credit grade.


What kind of programme will I take?


All students select six subjects in Year 11. All subjects at Year 11 will allow you to gain credits towards National Certificates. All credits count towards the National Certificate of Educational Achievement Level One.


NCEA Level One


When you have a total of 80 Level One credits or higher and you have achieved the literacy and numeracy requirements, you will receive your National Certificate of Educational Achievement Level One. 


How long will it take to gain a National Certificate?


Most subjects will offer a course of between 15 and 24 credits.  Some students will not achieve the minimum 80 credits for a Level One Certificate in a year, and will be able to gain further credits in the following year.  In addition you must gain the core numeracy and literacy credits. 


What are the core literacy and numeracy credits and how do I know if I have achieved them?


Level One of the NCEA will require ten numeracy credits and ten literacy credits.  You can gain the literacy credits through any combination of a variety of standards from English, Te Reo Māori, Accounting, Biology, Drama, Economics, Geography, Health, History, Languages, Music, Sports Science and Technology.


Numeracy credits can be gained through any combination of the following standards at Level One or higher:  Mathematics, Biology, Geography, Design and Visual Communication and Physics.


If I choose a subject will I be allowed to take it?


That depends.  You have to reach certain standards before you can enter a subject.  Your quality of work, end of year exam results and teacher recommendations in Year 10 will determine which subjects or courses you select to study in 2016.


You need to select courses that extend you, that you enjoy and allow you to be successful in your learning. 

bottom of page