top of page




Year 13, Level 3


What is the National Certificate of Educational Achievement Level Three?


It is awarded to students who have gained a total of 80 credits of which:


  • 60 credits must be Level Three Unit Standards and/or Achievement Standards.


Level 3 is the final secondary school qualification.  Completion of Level 3 leads on to Polytech, the work force and University providing the University Entrance requirements are met.


How do I qualify for University Entrance?


University Entrance (UE) is the minimum requirement to go to a New Zealand university. From 1 March 2015 there are new requirements. To be awarded UE you will need:


 •NCEA Level 3

 •Three subjects - at Level 3 or above, made up of: 14 credits each, in three approved subjects


Literacy - 10 credits at Level 2 or above, made up of:

    5 credits in reading and 5 credits in writing


Numeracy - 10 credits at Level 1 or above, made up of: achievement standards – specified achievement standards available through a range of subjects, or unit standards - package of three numeracy unit standards (26623, 26626, 26627- all three required).


University Entry Requirements for specific university courses


  • Universities have specific requirements for courses and you will need to ensure that the subjects you choose meet these standards.  Ms Wildash will have this information. 































What kind of programme will I take?


All subjects at Year 13 will allow you to gain credits towards National Certificates.


If I choose a subject will I be allowed to take it?


That depends.  You have to reach certain standards before you can enter a subject at Level 3.  Your quality of work, end of year exam results and teacher recommendations will determine which subjects or courses you select to study in 2015.  In 2015 students will only be allowed to progress to Level 3 subjects if they have met the required standard.  Year 13 students who have not met the standard will have to complete the Level 2 standards before they proceed to Level 3 standards.


You need to select courses that extend you, that you enjoy and allow you to be successful in your learning. 

bottom of page